NU News:

  • Nipissing University Celebrates Outstanding Research

    Nipissing University celebrated the research contributions of seven of its faculty members who received funding from the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council (SSHRC) and the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council (NSERC) last year during a Research Showcase held on January 22, 2020.
  • Nipissing University moves fall classes online

    Nipissing University has announced that fall term classes will be delivered primarily online. This decision ensures students will be able to successfully meet their program requirements while maintaining the highest possible safety standards.
  • Show your support on #GivingTuesdayNow

    On Tuesday, May 5, Nipissing University will join organizations from across the globe to participate in #GivingTuesdayNow, a day of giving and unity to demonstrate the power of generosity in response to the COVID-19 pandemic.
  • Remembrance Day Observance

    Nipissing University wishes to remember the contributions of our veterans who have served in war and peace-keeping duties over the years. On November 11, representatives from the University will be attending the municipal ceremony at Memorial Gardens. On campus, as an expression of observance, we will be holding a ceremony at 10:45 a.m. on Monday, November 11th in the Nipissing Theatre (F213). We encourage everyone to attend a local Remembrance Day service.
  • Meet Student Leader Lisa Truong

    Lisa has demonstrated her community leadership by advocating for, and educating others about, the need for bone marrow transplant donors in Canada. During her practicum, Lisa became aware of the silent crisis occurring in the bone marrow transplant community. Through research, Lisa discovered that only 2% of Canadians were registered to be a donor and that there is a particular need for more ethnically diverse stem cell donors.
  • University Bargaining Update

    Early on Monday morning of October 21st, 2019, a tentative deal was reached between the representatives of Nipissing University administration and the Faculty Academic Staff Bargaining Unit (FASBU).
  • Meet Student Leader Samuel Levac

    Samuel has demonstrated his community leadership through his three years of experience as a volunteer coach for North Bay Spartan’s Basketball. In this role, Samuel coached the 3 on 3 program and 2 rep teams per season while completing his degree program. He also volunteered his time to run a summer program for serious basketball athletes to continue to work on skills and strength. His positive influence has contributed to the success of many local athletes.
  •  The Sparrow Experiential Learning Centre is Open for Business

    Students in Nipissing University’s School of Business now have the opportunity to connect with the North Bay community through the Sparrow Experiential Learning Centre. Due to a generous contribution from the Sparrow Family, the university has created a new space on campus where students will engage in experiential learning by developing knowledge, skills and values from direct experiences outside a traditional academic setting, which includes hands-on engagement opportunities with the community.
  • Homecoming Weekend - October 4-6

    Open to the public and for all ages, Nipissing University spirit and North Bay pride will be on full display on October 5th when the Nipissing Lakers Women’s Varsity Hockey Team will be playing Laurentian University at Memorial Gardens at 7:30PM for a Homecoming game. Immediately after the game, there will be a fireworks performance sponsored by the City of North Bay. Tickets are available from Memorial Gardens.
  • Meet Student Leader Kyle Cuthbert

    Kyle has demonstrated his community leadership through volunteering with the Crown Christian Society, Big Brothers Big Sisters, Near North Baptist Church’s Youth Ministry, the Canadian Mental Health Association, and Victim Services of Nipissing District.
  • Meet Student Leader Dawn Corston

    Dawn has demonstrated her community leadership through her volunteer roles with the office of Indigenous Initiatives as Peer2Peer Mentor, Biidaaban Youth Group Volunteer, and Debwendizon Panelist.