Board of Governors

Call for applications

Nipissing University’s vision is to provide an exceptional and personalized student experience within a collegial and diverse learning community. Want to be part of our success?

Applications are being sought from community members to fill current and upcoming vacancies on the Nipissing University Board of Governors. If you are interested in joining our Board, please click here for further information.

The Nipissing University Act (1992) provides for a bicameral governance of the University and thus, governance is based on two legislative branches: the Board of Governors and the Academic Senate. The Board of Governors, which is made up of 26 members including Nipissing’s President and Chancellor, is responsible for the government and administration of the University, creating a mandate and evaluating and monitoring the progress of that mandate. This includes control of Nipissing’s property and revenues and the conduct of its business affairs except for those matters assigned to the Academic Senate.

The Board of Governors meets at least five times a year, and we invite you to follow the links to view the minutes of these meetings. Find out more about the Board's composition, committees and activities by choosing one of the categories listed.

Governing Officers

Board of Governors

(effective July 1, 2020)

Chancellor - Dr. Paul Cook (d.Litt)
Chair - Ms. Marianne Berube
Vice-Chair - 
Vice-Chair Pro Tem - Mr. Stuart Kidd
President (Interim) – Ms. Cheryl Sutton

Non-Constituent Members

Ms. Patricia Carr
Ms. Fran Couchie
Mr. John D'Agostino
Ms. Judith Koziol
Ms. Joanne Laplante
Mr. Bobby Ray 
Ms. Judy Smith
Mr. David Smits
Ms. Kathy Wilcox

Vacancy (x2)

Members Appointed by the Senate

Dr. Denyse Lafrance Horning
Dr. Hilary Earl

Members Appointed by the Faculty at Large

Dr. Gillian McCann
Dr. Rick Vanderlee

Members Appointed by the Students

Ms. Hannah Mackie (NUSU President)
Ms. Mykayla King (NUSU VP Advocacy & Awareness)

Official Observers: 

Ms. Shannon MacCarthy (NUSU VP Student Life)

Member Appointed by the Alumni Advisory Board

Ms. Lisa Snider

Members Appointed by the Non-teaching Employees

Mr. Ryan Hehn
Mr. Stephen Tedesco

Member Appointed by the Indigenous Council on Education


Mayoral Designate

Ms. Johanne Brousseau