### NIPISSING UNIVERSITY

### MINUTES OF THE ACADEMIC SENATE MEETING

June 12, 2003

10:00 a.m. - Room A246

### MEMBERS PRESENT:

- D. Marshall, R. Bergquist, R. Common, A. Dean, D. Lawrence,
- C. Boterbloem, T. Chase, P. Chow, A. Clendinning, S. High, L. Kruk, S. Kulkarni, D. Murphy, L. Patriquin, G. Phillips, G. Pyle, A. Sparkes, K. Topps, M. Tuncali, V. Valov, D. Walton, G. Williams, H. Zhu
- D. Bolger, K. Clausen, R. Davis, L. Frost, C. Harvey, M. Kariuki, H. Langford, J. Long, G. McEwen, J. McIntosh, B. Olmsted, S. Reid, C. Richardson, H. Rintoul, J. Scott, G. Swanson, H. Vail, S. Van Nuland
- S. Carmichael

W. Abreu, R. Molica-Lazzaro Special Guest: D. Mock

### **ABSENT WITH REGRETS:**

- R. Forrest
- J. Baffoe (sabbatical), D. Flynn (sabbatical), E. Mattson, S. Muhlberger (sabbatical), P. Nosko (sabbatical), W. Young (on leave)
- P. Barber, D. Brackenreed
- D. Bourne-Tyson

## MEMBERS ABSENT:

- W. Borody, G. Brophey, G. Brown, R. Brozowski, M. Denike,
- T. Dokis, D. Hackett, D. Hall, L. Janzen, D. Jowett, P. Kelly,
- J. Knox, J. Kovacs, U. Kundrats, S. Lawlor, J. LeClair,
- B. Lorenzkowski, F. Noël, G. Olsen, T. Parkes, B. Riome, L. Robinson,
- J. Ryan, M. Saari, C. Sarlo, B. Schreyer, K. Stange, L. Thibeault,
- A. Weeks
- D. Berry, W. Blair, T. Campbell, D. Franks, T. Horton, P. Joong,
- L. Knaack, G. Laronde, A. LeSage, J. Lundy, M. McCabe,
- J. Mroczkowski, M. Parr, C. Ricci, W. Richardson, O. Ridler,
- T. Ryan, R. Weeks
- L. McLaren
- L. Richards

Minutes of the Academic Senate Meeting June 6, 2002 Page 2

MOTION #1: Moved by B. Olmsted, seconded by R. Molica-Lazzaro that the minutes of the

regular meeting of the Academic Senate dated May 15, 2003 be adopted.

**CARRIED** 

#### **ANNOUNCEMENTS**

President Marshall was delighted to introduce and welcome Acting President, Dennis Mock, to his first Senate meeting. Dr. Mock has extensive administrative experience as the former Vice-President Academic of Ryerson. He plans to be at Nipissing again in July before his official start date of August 1. Senator Marshall announced that the Consolidated Committee had recently approved Senator Janzen for promotion to Full Professor and Senators Mroczkowski and Borody for promotion to Associate Professor. Senators were again reminded of the importance of advising Deanna Hodgins of the Convocation ceremony they plan to attend since seating is limited. President Marshall thanked senators for the pleasure he had experienced serving as Chair of Senate for the past 13 years. He expressed his gratitude for all he has learned about collegial governance, and noted that he is moving to an institution that does not yet have a Senate; therefore, he will draw upon Nipissing as an exemplary model.

On behalf of the Office of the Vice-President Academic, Senator Dean announced that seven internal, start-up research grants were approved for Arts and Science and two for Education. Funds will be allocated on July 1. Senator Dean stated that the Canada Research Chair Subcommittee had received three proposals. All senators were wished a restful summer.

Senator Abreu informed Senate that NUSU is creating a web site that will be operational in August. He informed Senate that the NUSU executive met with the Mayor to promote Shinerama. He welcomed any input or suggestions from faculty with regard to financial support for Shinerama.

Senator Lawrence provided an update on applications and noted that students have until June 16 to respond to offers. Currently, Nipissing has 740 acceptances from high school, in addition to 76 from non-high school and 74 upper year. He noted that a total of 1930 have not responded to offers from any university. However, it will be another week before more information is known. Senator Lawrence remarked that there were 3000 fewer acceptances, province-wide, compared with the same time last year. He predicted that there is much activity still to come and it is likely that universities will be making offers over the summer. Therefore, the Registrar felt that Nipissing would experience more retractions. Senator Lawrence reported that there are 700 Education applicants, which is exactly the number desired.

Senator Sparkes spoke briefly about COU's discussion regarding the mandatory volunteer hours of service in order to qualify for a high school diploma. He raised the point in connection with campus preparations and the concern that universities will not be ready. Senator Sparkes referred to a COU paper written by the academic colleagues, entitled "The Double Cohort and Quality". A copy has been given to the Office of the Dean of Arts and Science.

Minutes of the Academic Senate Meeting June 12, 2003 Page 3

# By-laws and Striking Committee

MOTION #2: Moved by A. Sparkes, seconded by J. McIntosh that the Annual Report of the By-

laws and Striking Committee dated June 3, 2003 be received.

**CARRIED** 

MOTION #3: Moved by A. Sparkes, seconded by J. McIntosh that Senate hold an election to fill

vacant positions on two Standing Committees.

**CARRIED** 

G. Phillips was nominated to the APT Arts Subcommittee

D. Rowbotham was nominated to the University Curriculum Committee

MOTION #4: Moved by K. Topps seconded by M. Tuncali that nominations cease.

**CARRIED** 

Acclaimed: G. Phillips for APT Subcommittee

D. Rowbotham for University Curriculum Committee

## Admissions, Promotions and Petitions Committee

MOTION #5: Moved by R. Bergquist, seconded by D. Lawrence that the Report of the

Admissions, Promotions and Petitions Committee dated May 30, 2003 be received.

**CARRIED** 

MOTION #6: Moved by R. Bergquist, seconded by W. Abreu that Senate admit to their

respective degrees in-course students listed in Appendix A who have completed all requirements to their respective degrees and diplomas and that their degrees and

diplomas be awarded at the 2003 Spring convocation.

**CARRIED** 

### OTHER BUSINESS

## Report to Senate from the Dean of Arts and Science

MOTION #7: Moved by A. Dean, seconded by R. Bergquist that the Report of the Dean of Arts

and Science dated 03 June 2003 be received.

**CARRIED** 

MOTION #8: Moved by A. Dean, seconded by G. Pyle that the Arts and Science Council

recommend to Senate that the Faculty of Arts and Science be given the freedom to decide what, if any, elements of their final exam be posted on the Web and that current exams posted on the Web may be removed depending on the discretion of

the instructor.

### **CARRIED**

Minutes of the Academic Senate Meeting June 12, 2003 Page 4

MOTION #9: Moved by A. Dean, seconded by K. Topps that the Arts and Science Council

recommend to Senate that the Senate policy for final examinations in the Faculty of

Arts and Science for 3-credit courses be changed to 3 hours.

**CARRIED** 

## Election of Representatives to the Selection Committee for the President

MOTION #10: Moved by S. Carmichael, seconded by H. Langford that Senate now elect four

members of Senate to serve as representatives on the Selection Committee for the

President. CARRIED

L. Patriquin nominated D. Hall

K. Boterbloem nominated D. Franks

C. Harvey nominated S. Reid

K. Topps nominated C. Sarlo

G. Williams nominated P. Nosko

M. Tuncali nominated T. Chase

J. McIntosh nominated S. Van Nuland

W. Abreu nominated R. Molica-Lazzaro

MOTION #11: Moved by L. Kruk, seconded by D. Bolger that nominations cease.

**CARRIED** 

Elected: D. Hall, D. Franks, C. Sarlo, T. Chase

MOTION #12: Moved by M. Tuncali, seconded by A. Sparkes that Senate do now adjourn:

11:00 a.m. CARRIED

• • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • •	
D. Marshall, President	G. Williams, Secretary