Dr. James Jamieson Influential Alumni Award

Presented to a graduate whose dedication and leadership has influenced significant change and prosperity within their community. The recipient may be an alumnus of one of the following institutions:  North Bay Normal School, Teacher’s College, Nipissing University College or Nipissing University. 

The award is named after Dr. James Jamieson, who was made an honorary member of the Nipissing University Alumni Association in the early 1980s. He was one of the founding members of the Alumni Association and served as its first President from 1973 - 1975. He served as a member of the Board of Governors from 1975 –1986. In 1981, he, along with Dr. George Zytaruk, was instrumental in the setting up of the Office of Alumni Affairs.

The award will be presented during a yearly event (the date will be determined each year). 

NOTE: Alumni Board Members are ineligible to receive an award during their time of service. However, nominations may still be submitted and will be held for future consideration.

Nominators are not allowed to be related to the nominee. 

The award will consist of

  1. A framed certificate
  2. A photo in the Alumni e-Newsletter and/or a press release to the local paper
  3. Name to be displayed on the Alumni Awards wall 
  4. Highlighted on our Alumni website

Click here to fill out the online nomination form: 

Past Recipients of the Dr. James Jamieson Influential Alumni Award are:

2020 Hariett Madigan

2019 Julio Viskovich

2018 Jennifer Conley

2017 David K. Bell

2016 Dr. Peter Bush

2014 Erin Dokis

2012 Marianne Berube

2011* ​Alexandra Archibald, Tina Benevides, Kim Boechler, Gerry Brennan, Jennifer Burgoyne, Naomi Cheechoo, Cameron Culbert, Anthony D'Agostino, Marianne den Haan, Ian Desjardins, Anna Fitzsimmons, Barbara Groves, Alison Herst, Yves Kalala, Matthew McKean, Paula Murphy, Michelann Parr, Julie Pennell, Andrew Perrin, Trina Prince, Doug Rogers, Kevin Salzman, Virginia Schonhoffer, Andrzej Schreyer, Fred Watkin, Ann Marie Welsh, Alan Williams, Rosie Zinn, & JoAnn Zytaruk

*The Dr. James Jamieson Influential Alumni Award was introduced in 2011 and was presented to a multitude of exceptional alumni.